Institute for Data Processing and Electronics (IPE)

Particle accelerators are universal instruments that enable unique experiments in many areas of basic research. However, particle accelerators now also play an important role in applied research, such as materials science, industry and medicine. At KIT, concepts for novel particle accelerators are developed and a variety of accelerator test facilities are operated. The IPE develops instruments for precise characterization of charged particles in particle accelerators. Our instruments are key to understanding the complex processes in these facilities.

Instruments for electron beam diagnosis

The comprehensive characterization of coherent synchrotron radiation (CSR) is a research focus of the Helmholtz program "Matter and Technologies" at KIT. To detect and analyse CSR emission, THz detector systems are required that convert the synchrotron radiation into an electric pulse. For the measurement of these extremely fast pulses, a time resolution in the picosecond range is required. The continuous inspection of electron bunches has proven to be an indispensable tool for the diagnostics and further development of synchrotron storage rings.

About the technology: Instruments for electron beam diagnostics

Alps: Advanced Linux PCI Services

Building data acquisition systems for measuring instruments with high data rates is challenging. These devices often use the PCIe bus, that has a very high performance and is easy to integrate into the electronics. Due to the limited bandwidth of the PC system memory, an efficient implementation of the DMA protocol is necessary for a continuous data flow. The appropriate Linux kernel driver interface is volatile and kernel drivers are difficult to develop and maintain. In addition, there is the requirement to synchronize the development of the instrument hardware and the necessary readout and analysis software. Alps is a flexible Linux driver platform for PCIe-based electronics with RDMA support, which is optimized for fast software design due to its modularity.

About the technology: Alps: Advanced Linux PCI Services

Institut für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik (IPE)

Teilchenbeschleuniger sind universelle Instrumente, die einzigartige Experimente in vielen Gebieten der Grundlagenforschung ermöglichen. Teilchenbeschleuniger spielen inzwischen aber auch eine wichtige Rolle in der angewandten Forschung, wie zum Beispiel den Materialwissenschaft, in der Industrie und der Medizin. Am KIT werden Konzepte für neuartige Teilchenbeschleuniger entwickelt, sowie mannigfaltige Beschleunigertesteinrichtungen betrieben. Das IPE entwickelt hierzu Instrumente zur präzisen Charakterisierung von geladenen Partikeln in Teilchenbeschleunigern. Unsere Instrumente sind ein wichtiger Baustein zum Verständnis der komplexen Vorgänge in den Anlagen.

Instrumente zur Elektronenstrahldiagnose

Die umfassende Untersuchung von kohärenter Synchrotronstrahlung (CSR) ist ein Forschungsschwerpunkt des Helmholtz-Programms "Materie und Technologien" am KIT. Um die CSR-Emission nachzuweisen und zu untersuchen, werden THz-Detektorsysteme benötigt, die die Synchrotronstrahlung in einen elektrischen Puls umwandeln. Für die Messung dieser extrem schnellen Pulse wird eine Zeitauflösung im Pikosekundenbereich benötigt. Die kontinuierliche Messung der Elektronenpakete hat sich als unverzichtbares Werkzeug für die Diagnostik und Weiterentwicklung von Synchrotronspeicherringen erwiesen.

Zur Technologie: Instrumente zur Elektronenstrahldiagnose

Alps: Advanced Linux PCI Services

Der Aufbau einer Datenerfassung für Messinstrumente mit hohen Datenraten ist eine Herausforderung. Für die Geräte wird häufig der sehr performante und in die Elektronik gut zu integrierende PCIe-Bus verwendet. Aufgrund der begrenzten Bandbreite des PC-Systemspeichers ist für einen kontinuierlichen Datenfluss eine effiziente Realisierung des DMA-Protokolls notwendig. Die passende Linux-Kerneltreiberschnittstelle ist schnelllebig und Kerneltreiber sind schwer zu entwickeln und zu warten. Hinzu kommt die Anforderung, die Entwicklung der Hardware des Instrumentes und die erforderliche Auslese- und Analysesoftware zu synchronisieren. Alps ist eine flexible Linux-Treiberplattform für PCIe-basierte Elektronik mit RDMA-Unterstützung, die durch ihre Modularität optimiert ist für einen schnellen Softwareentwurf.

Zur Technologie: Alps: Advanced Linux PCI Services