Institute for Data Processing and Electronics (IPE)

Astroparticle physics explores fundamental mysteries of nature at the interface of cosmology, astrophysics and elementary particle physics. In large-scale international experiments, the nature and origin of cosmic radiation, the properties of neutrinos and the composition of dark matter are investigated. The IPE is involved in several of these fundamental experiments (e.g. Pierre Auger Observatory, KATRIN, EDELWEISS). Together with our international partners we develop unique detectors and data acquisition systems. Our activities often cover the entire signal chain, from detector design and construction, analog and digital electronics, to readout and data infrastructure.

KATRIN

The Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment KATRIN aims to solve one of the greatest mysteries in natural sciences. In the KATRIN experiment, the mass of the electron antineutrino should be measured by highly precise energy determination of tritium decay electrons (β radiation). The most striking component of the experiment is a very large electrostatic retardation spectrometer formed by a stainless-steel vessel of 10 m diameter. By means of a high voltage source (approx. -18.6 kV), an electric counter field is formed in it, which causes a large part of the electrons to bounce back. The few b-electrons passing through the spectrometer are registered by a silicon detector. IPE is involved with the development of KATRIN-specific electronics, automation technology and data acquisition.

About the experiment: KATRIN

KaaS

Complex and distributed detector readout and control systems are required to realize modern scientific experiments. The instrumentation integrates custom and commercial components and generates ever-increasing amounts of data. A variety of different formats, underlying storage engines, and data workflows is used. Often proper manual data interpretation and quality assurance is difficult or even impossible due to the tremendously increase of number, size and complexity of datasets. This raises the need for novel automatic or at least semi-automatic data analysis methods and tools. Information on operation status and scientific meaning needs to be extracted continuously from the data stream and provided to the users in a visual easy to interpret form.

About the technology: KaaS - Control-as-a-Service

Pierre Auger Observatory

The international Pierre Auger Observatory, built in Argentina, serves to detect cosmic (particle) radiation at the highest energies. The aim is to determine the direction of incidence, the energy distribution and the chemical composition of the particles in order to obtain information about the sources and acceleration mechanisms of the particles. At present, the surface detectors, which were built on an area of more than 3000 km² from 2002-2008, are being upgraded. Additional scintillation counters are deployed within the AugerPrime project and the corresponding electronics is being replaced. The main contribution of IPE to the Pierre Auger Observatory was the development, production and installation of the digital electronics for the fluorescence telescopes. In addition, the central data acquisition system was designed, the LAN infrastructure was set up, and contributions were made to calibration systems. In the current AugerPrime project we are responsible for the design of a test system for the complex new electronics of the surface detectors.

About the experiment: Auger

EDELWEISS

The EDELWEISS experiment tries to detect "dark matter" in a direct way. For this purpose, the international collaboration operated several germanium bolometers in the LSM underground laboratory (near Modane), which generate an ionization and heat signal when a potential dark matter particle collides with a germanium nucleus. The experiment was discontinued in mid-2020 because the limits for "dark matter" cannot be significantly improved by longer measurements due to the existing underground. In cooperation with the partners in the collaboration, the IPE has developed the electronics for the data readout of EDELWEISS, which also integrates the veto counter modules for the suppression of underground events. The signals of the germanium bolometers are digitized at 100 kHz and analyzed and stored as a continuous data stream by computers. In future, the search for dark matter in the DARWIN experiment will be continued with an Xe detector, in which IPE will also participate.

About the experiment: EDELWEISS

Institut für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik (IPE)

Die Astroteilchenphysik erforscht fundamentale Rätsel der Natur an der Schnittstelle von Kosmologie, Astrophysik und Elementarteilchenphysik. In internationalen Großexperimenten werden die Natur und Herkunft der kosmischen Strahlung, die Eigenschaften von Neutrinos und die Zusammensetzung der Dunklen Materie untersucht. Das IPE ist an mehreren dieser Grundlagenexperimente beteiligt (z.B. Pierre Auger Observatorium, KATRIN, EDELWEISS). Wir entwickeln zusammen mit unseren internationalen Partnern einzigartige Detektoren und Datenerfassungssysteme. Unsere Aktivitäten decken dabei häufig die gesamte Signalkette, vom Detektordesign und -bau, über Analog- und Digitalelektronik, bis zu Auslese und Dateninfrastruktur.

KATRIN

Das Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment KATRIN ist einem der größten Rätsel der Naturwissenschaft auf der Spur. Das KATRIN-Experiment soll die Masse des Elektron-Antineutrinos durch hochgenaue Energiebestimmung von Tritium-Zerfallselektronen (β-Strahlung) bestimmen. Die auffälligste Komponente des Experimentes ist ein sehr großes elektrostatisches Retardierungsspektrometer, das durch ein Edelstahlgefäß von 10 m Durchmesser gebildet wird. Mittels einer Hochspannungsquelle (ca. -18,6 kV) wird darin ein elektrisches Gegenfeld gebildet, das einen Großteil der Elektronen zurückprallen lässt. Die wenigen das Spektrometer durchsetzenden b-Elektronen werden mit einem Siliziumdetektor registriert. Kern der IPE-Aktivitäten liegt in Entwicklung KATRIN-spezifischer Elektronik, Automatisierungstechnik und Datenerfassung.

 

Zum Experiment: KATRIN

KaaS

Zur Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Experimente sind komplexe und verteilte Detektorauslese- und Steuerungssysteme erforderlich. Die Instrumentierung integriert anweendungsspezifische und kommerzielle Komponenten und erzeugt immer größere Datenmengen. Es wird eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Formate, Speicher-Engines und Daten-Workflows verwendet. Oftmals ist eine korrekte manuelle Dateninterpretation und Qualitätssicherung aufgrund der enorm gestiegenen Anzahl, Größe und Komplexität der Datensätze schwierig oder sogar unmöglich. Dies erklärt den Bedarf an neuartigen automatischen oder zumindest halbautomatischen Datenanalysemethoden und -werkzeugen. Die Informationen über den Betriebsstatus und die wissenschaftliche Bedeutung werden in der KaaS-Platform kontinuierlich aus dem Datenstrom extrahiert und den Benutzern in einer visuell leicht zu interpretierenden Form zur Verfügung gestellt.

Zur Technologie: KaaS - Control-as-a-Service

Pierre Auger Observatorium

Das in Argentinien errichtete internationale Pierre Auger Observatorium dient der Detektion hochenergetischer kosmischer (Teilchen)-Strahlung bei höchsten Energien. Ziel ist es, die Einfallsrichtung, die Energieverteilung und die chemische Zusammensetzung der Teilchen zu bestimmen, um daraus Aussagen über die Quellen und Beschleunigungsmechanismen für die Teilchen zu gewinnen. Derzeit werden die Oberflächendetektoren, die auf einer Fläche von über 3000 km² von 2002-2008 aufgebaut wurden, mit zusätzlichen Szintillationszählern im Rahmen des Projekt AugerPrime aufgerüstet und die entsprechende Elektronik erneuert. Der wesentliche Beitrag des IPEs zum Pierre Auger Observatorium war die Entwicklung, Produktion und Installation der digitalen Elektronik für die Fluoreszenz-Teleskope. Darüberhinaus wurde die zentrale Datenerfassung konzipiert, die LAN-Infrastruktur aufgebaut, und zu Kalibrationssystemen beigetragen. Im laufenden Projekt AugerPrime sind wir das Design eines Testsystems für die komplexe neue Elektronik der Oberflächendetektoren verantwortlich.

Zum Experiment: Auger

EDELWEISS

Das EDELWEISS-Experiment versucht auf direktem Weg "Dunkle Materie" nachzuweisen. Dazu betrieb die internationale Kollaboration im Untergrundlabor LSM (bei Modane) mehrere Germanium-Bolometer, welche beim Stoß eines potentiellen Dunkle-Materie-Teilchen an einem Germanium-Kern ein Ionisations- und Wärmesignal erzeugen. Mitte 2020 wurde das Experiment eingestellt, weil die Grenzwerte für die „Dunkle Materie“ aufgrund des bestehenden Untergrunds durch längeres Messen nicht wesentlich verbessert werden können. Das IPE hat in Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnern in der Kollaboration die Elektronik für die Datenauslese von EDELWEISS entwickelt, die auch die Vetozählermodule zur Unterdrückung von Untergrundereignissen integriert. Die Signale der Germanium-Bolometer werden mit 100 kHz digitalisiert und als kontinuierlicher Datenstrom von Computern analysiert und gespeichert. Zukünftig wird die Suche nach Dunkler Materie im DARWIN Experiment mit einem Xe-Detektor weitergeführt, an dem sich IPE ebenfalls beteiligen wird.

Zum Experiment: EDELWEISS