Institute for Data Processing and Electronics (IPE)

Particle physics deals with the elementary building blocks of matter and how these so-called "elementary particles" interact with each other. In this context, elementary particles are the elementary building blocks of matter that cannot be split in further even smaller particles. Within the framework of the research in particle physics, scientists try to analyse the system of elementary particles and their interactions with extremely complex experiments. Behind these experiments lie fundamental questions of humanity: "What is the origin of our universe and all the matter in it? How will it develop further?" IPE develops new detector concepts and high-performance electronics for trigger systems to observe elementary particles in collision experiments.

HVCMOS Sensors

HVCMOS particle sensors are based on an innovative structure. These sensors can be manufactured in commercial semiconductor processes. High voltage is used to increase the sensor volume and improve time resolution, detection efficiency and radiation hardness.

HVCMOS sensors are pixelated sensors in CMOS technology using high voltage to increase the sensor volume and improve time resolution, detection efficiency and radiation hardness. HVCMOS sensors are suitable for the detection of single ionizing particles, although the detection of low energy photons is also possible.

About the technology: HVCMOS

Terabit/s optical data transmission

Future detectors for particle physics, astroparticle physics or photon science will have several billion electrical channels. Together with rapidly increasing data rates of the individual channels, this will lead to a massive increase in the data rate to many terabits per second. Processing these data volumes is one of the greatest challenges for future detector systems. Even with strong, local data reduction already in the detector, it will not be possible to transfer all raw data to the counting room using conventional technology. A key to mastering this challenge is an increased transmission bandwidth. This can be achieved with optical data transmission.

About the technology: Terabit/s optical data transmission

Quench detection system

Superconducting coils used to generate strong magnetic fields in collider experiments have very high currents in the kiloampere range. The electrical conductivity must be monitored continuously in order avoid damage. To control this, the voltage across the conductor to be monitored is measured permanently and compared with small thresholds in the millivolt range. An early detected drop in current carrying capacity thus prevents expensive repairs to superconducting components..

About the technology: Quench-Detektionssystem

Institut für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik (IPE)

Die Teilchenphysik beschäftigt sich mit den elementaren Bausteinen der Materie und damit, wie diese sogenannten "Elementarteilchen" miteinander wechselwirken. Elementarteilchen sind in diesem Zusammenhang die elementaren Bausteine der Materie, die nicht aus weiteren noch kleineren Teilchen bestehen. Im Rahmen der Forschung in der Teilchenphysik versuchen Wissenschaftler durch extrem aufwändige Experimente das System von Elementarteilchen und ihren Wechselwirkungen zu ergründen. Dahinter verbergen sich fundamentale Fragen der Menschheit: „Wie ist unser Universum und alle Materie darin entstanden? Wie wird es sich weiter entwickeln?" Das IPE entwickelt für diese Experimente neue Detektorkonzepte und Hochleistungselektronik für Triggersysteme zur Beobachtung von Elementarteilchen in Kollisionsexperimenten.

HVCMOS Sensoren

HVCMOS-Sensoren sind Pixel-Sensoren in CMOS-Technologie, bei denen Hochspannung verwendet wird, um das Sensorvolumen zu vergrößern und die Zeitauflösung, die Detektionseffizienz und die Strahlungshärte zu verbessern. HVCMOS-Sensoren eignen sich für die Detektion einzelner ionisierender Teilchen, aber auch die Detektion von niederenergetischen Photonen möglich ist.

Zur Technologie: HVCMOS

Terabit/s optische Datenübertragung

Zukünftige Detektoren für die Teilchenphysik, Astroteilchenphysik oder Photon Science werden einige Milliarden elektrischer Kanäle besitzen. Zusammen mit schnell steigenden Datenraten der einzelnen Kanäle führt dies zu einem massiven Anstieg der Datenrate auf viele Terabit pro Sekunde. Die Bearbeitung dieser Datenmengen ist eine der größten Herausforderungen für zukünftige Detektorsysteme. Auch mit starker, lokaler Datenreduktion bereits im Detektor wird es nicht möglich sein, alle Rohdaten mit herkömmlicher Technik in den Counting Room zu übertragen. Ein Schlüssel zur Bewältigung dieser Herausforderung ist eine vergrößerte Übertragungsbandbreite. Diese lässt sich beispielsweise mit einer optischen Datenübertragung realisieren.

Zur Technlogie: Terabit/s optische Datenübertragung

Quench-Detektionssystem

Supraleitenden Spulen zur Erzeugung starker Magnetfelder in Beschleunigerexperimenten führen sehr hohen Strömen im Kiloampere-Bereich. Um Beschädigungen zu vermeiden, muss die elektrische Leitfähigkeit ständig überwacht werden. Die zu kontrollierende Spannung wird über dem zu überwachenden Leiter permanent gemessen und mit kleinen Schwellen im Millivolt Bereich verglichen. Ein frühzeitig detektierter Einbruch der Stromtragfähigkeit verhindert somit teure Reparaturen an supraleitenden Komponenten.

Zur Technologie: Quench-Detektionssystem