Institute for Data Processing and Electronics (IPE)

Breast cancer is the most common form of cancer in women: 1,600,000 cases of breast cancer are diagnosed worldwide each year. Although the breast is not a vital organ, the chances of recovery are not yet as good as they could be. Detected and localized in time, breast cancer is very well treatable. The "3D Ultrasound Computer Tomography" (USCT) project is developing a new imaging method for early detection of breast cancer that promises three-dimensional images in high resolution. Our goal is to detect a tumor with an average size of 5 mm in order to enable earlier diagnosis and thus greatly increase the chances of survival.

Technology

The project has several technological challenges: The procedure is based on thousands of ultrasound transducers arranged in a water-filled examination basin. During the acquisition of an image, large amounts of raw data are acquired, which are then used for the reconstruction of  3D images.

For the development of USCT prototypes we can rely on the competences of our institute:

Mechanical design

For the mechanical design, we deal with questions regarding patient and user safety with respect to medical device development. At the same time the development poses functional challenges for the novel technology.

Ultrasound transducers

Our research focuses on the simulation, characterization and construction of ultrasound transducers with special characteristics. The competences of the IPE allow research on manufacturing techniques as well as the construction of small series.

Analog and digital electronics

In the field of analog and digital electronics, the challenges are the integration of complex electronic sub-systems into a complete system. The large data volumes and data rates require the development of special hardware with several hundred parallel channels.

Software

In order to calculate high-resolution three-dimensional images from the raw data, complex calculations have to be carried out. We research on the development of image reconstruction, image processing and visualization algorithms as well as their acceleration by means of GPU computing and FPGAs.


Projects

In our main project "3D Ultrasound Computed Tomography" we are engaged in the research and development of prototypes of a 3D ultrasound tomograph and its clinical evaluation. Currently, a 3D USCT prototype is being tested in a clinical study at the University Medical Center Mannheim. Together with an industrial partner, we are preparing a large multicenter study as part of a technology transfer project.

In numerous sub-projects in cooperation with national and international partners, we also conduct research in the fields of ultrasound for medical and industrial applications, medical imaging and medical image processing:

 

For students

Students are an essential part of our research group. In our research areas there are continuously exciting tasks for bachelor and master theses, internships and hiwi jobs in various disciplines. Please feel free to contact us directly if you are interested!

Network

Awards

Neuland Innovation Award 2018, 1st place: "3D USCT for multi-center study in China", Prof. Dr. Marc Weber, Prof. Dr. Hartmut Gemmeke, PD Dr. Nicole Ruiter, Dr. Torsten Hopp and Michael Zapf

NEO Innovation Award of the Karlsruhe Technology Region, 2015, PD Dr. Nicole Ruiter and USCT team

Gips-Schüle Young Talent Award 2014, 2nd prize, Dr. Torsten Hopp

iSMIT Technology Award 2013, Dr Nicole Ruiter and Dr Robin Dapp

Press

Publications


2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2001

Brustkrebs ist die häufigste Krebserkrankung bei Frauen: 1.600.000 Brustkrebsfälle treten pro Jahr weltweit auf. Obwohl die Brust kein lebenswichtiges Organ ist, sind die Chancen auf Heilung noch nicht so gut wie sie sein könnten. Rechtzeitig erkannt und lokalisiert, ist Brustkrebs sehr gut therapierbar. Im Projekt "3D-Ultraschall-Computertomographie" (USCT) wird ein neues bildgebendes Verfahren zur Brustkrebsfrüherkennung entwickelt, das dreidimensionale Bilder in hoher Auflösung verspricht. Unser Ziel ist es, einen Tumor mit der durchschnittlichen Größe von 5 mm zu entdecken, um einen früheren Diagnosezeitpunkt zu ermöglichen und damit die Heilungschancen stark zu erhöhen.

Technologie

Technologisch stellt das Projekt eine große Herausforderung dar. Das Verfahren basiert auf Tausenden von Ultraschallwandlern, die in einem wassergefüllten Untersuchungsbecken angeordnet sind. Bei der Aufnahme eines Bildes entstehen große Rohdatenmengen, welche anschließend für die Rekonstruktion verschiedener 3D-Bilder verwendet werden.

Für die Prototypentwicklung können wir auf die Kompetenzen unseres Instituts zurückgreifen:

Mechanischer Aufbau

Im Bereich des mechanischen Aufbaus beschäftigen wir uns vor dem Hintergrund der Medizinprodukt-Entwicklung mit Fragestellungen hinsichtlich der Patienten- und Benutzersicherheit bei gleichzeitigem funktionalen Herausforderungen für die neuartige Technik. 

Ultraschallwandler

Wir beschäftigen uns mit der Simulation, Charakterisierung und dem Aufbau von Ultraschallwandlern mit speziellen Charakteristiken. Die Kompetenzen des IPE erlauben die Forschung an Fertigungstechniken sowie den Aufbau von Kleinserien.

Analog- und Digitalelektronik

In Bereich der Analog-und Digitalelektronik bestehen die Herausforderungen in der Integration komplexer elektronischer System zu einem Gesamtsystem. Die großen Datenmengen und -raten erfordern die Entwicklung spezieller Hardware mit mehreren hundert parallelen Kanälen.

Software

Um aus den den Rohdaten hochaufgelöste dreidimensionale Bilder zu berechnen sind aufwändige Berechnungen durchzuführen. Wir forschen an der Entwicklung von Bildrekonstruktions-, Bildverarbeitungs- und Visualisierungs-Algorithmen sowie deren Beschleunigung mittels GPU-Computing und FPGAs. 


Projekte

In unserem Hauptprojekt "3D Ultraschall-Computertomographie" beschäftigen wir uns mit der Forschung und Entwicklung von Prototypen eines 3D-Ultraschall-Computertomographen und dessen klinischen Evaluierung. Aktuell wird der zweite 3D-USCT-Prototyp in einer klinischen Studie in der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim erprobt. Zusammen mit einem Industriepartner bereiten wir im Rahmen eines Technologie-Transfer-Projektes eine große Multicenter-Studie vor. 

In zahlreichen Teilprojekten mit Kooperationen mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern betreiben wir darüber hinaus Forschung auf den Gebieten Ultraschall für medizinische und industrielle Anwendungen, medizinischer Bildgebung und medizinischer Bildverarbeitung:

Für Studierende

Studierende sind in unserer Forschungsgruppe ein essentieller Bestandsteil. In unseren Forschungsbereichen gibt es kontinuierlich spannende Aufgaben für Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten, Praktika und Hiwi-Jobs in den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen. Gerne könnt Ihr uns bei Interesse direkt kontaktieren!

Vernetzung

Auszeichnungen

Neuland Innovations-Sonderpreis 2018, 1. Platz: „3D USCT for multi-center study in China“, Prof. Dr. Marc Weber, Prof. Dr. Hartmut Gemmeke, PD Dr. Nicole Ruiter, Dr. Torsten Hopp und Michael Zapf

Innovationspreis NEO der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe, 2015, PD Dr. Nicole Ruiter und USCT-Team

Gips-Schüle-Nachwuchspreis 2014, 2. Preis, Dr. Torsten Hopp

iSMIT Technologie Award 2013, Dr. Nicole Ruiter und Dr. Robin Dapp

Presse

Publikationen


2022
2021
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2001