Institute for Data Processing and Electronics (IPE)
Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm MTCERN 2006

Matter and Technologies

The Matter and Technologies (MT) programme uses large research infrastructures such as accelerators, radiation sources and detectors to investigate fundamental scientific questions about the origin and nature of matter. At KIT, this program includes both accelerator research and development (ARD) and detector technologies and systems (DTS). The IPE is specialized in DTS.

To the Helmholtz page

Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm MUDESY

Matter and the Universe

The Matter and the Universe (MU) program explores the properties of the smallest subatomic particles and the forces between them that determine the properties of matter and the universe. Fundamental insights into the structure of matter have been gained both with the methods of nuclear and elementary particle physics and through observations and measurements of astroparticle physics at the interfaces of nuclear and particle physics, astronomy, astrophysics and cosmology.

To the KIT program page
To the Helmholtz page

Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm SCIMarkus Spieske (Unsplash)

Storage and Cross-linked Infrastructures

The Storage and Cross-linked Infrastructures (SCI) programme is dedicated to the research and development of different energy storage systems and efficient infrastructures to compensate for the volatile energy supply of renewable energies and to meet the challenges of energy transmission and distribution.

To the Helmholtz page

Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm STNMichael Dziedzic (Unsplash)

Science and Technology of Nanosystems

The Science and Technology of Nanosystems (STN) programme is working to control and shape materials from the atomic and molecular to the macroscopic scale to explore their full potential of novel functionalities.
Research and development here focuses on quantum phenomena and molecular building blocks, new and novel functional materials, and new optical and photonic systems.

To the Helmholtz page

Institut für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik (IPE)
Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm MTCERN 2006

Materie und Technologie

Im Programm Materie und Technologie (MT) werden mit Hilfe großer Forschungsinfrastrukturen wie Beschleunigern, Strahlungsquellen und Detektoren grundlegenden Fragen der Naturwissenschaft zum Ursprung und zur Beschaffenheit von Materie nachgegangen. Am KIT beinhaltet dieses Programm sowohl Beschleunigerforschung und Entwicklung (ARD) als auch Detektortechnologien und -systeme (DTS). Das IPE ist hierbei auf DTS spezialisiert.

Zur Helmholtz-Seite

Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm MUDESY

Materie und das Universum

Im Programm Materie und das Universum (MU) werden die Eigenschaften der kleinsten subatomaren Teilchen und die Kräfte zwischen ihnen, die die Eigenschaften der Materie und des Universums bestimmen, erforscht. Grundlegende Erkenntnisse zur Struktur der Materie wurden sowohl mit den Methoden der Kern- und Elementarteilchenphysik gewonnen als auch durch Beobachtungen und Messungen der Astroteilchenphysik an den Schnittstellen von Kern- und Teilchenphysik, Astronomie, Astrophysik und Kosmologie.

Zur KIT-Programmseite
Zur Helmholtz-Seite

Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm SCIMarkus Spieske (Unsplash)

Speicher und vernetzte Infrastrukturen

Das Programm Speicher und vernetzte Infrastrukturen (SCI) widmet sich der Erforschung und Entwicklung von unterschiedlichen Energiespeichersystemen und effizienten Infrastrukturen, um die volatile Energiebereitstellung der erneuerbaren Energien zu kompensieren sowie die Herausforderungen der Energieübertragung und -verteilung zu bewältigen.

Zur Helmholtz-Seite

Symbolbild Helmholtz-Programm STNMichael Dziedzic (Unsplash)

Science and Technology of Nanosystems

Im Programm Science and Technology of Nanosystems (STN) wird daran gearbeitet, Materialien vom atomaren und molekularen bis zum makroskopischen Maßstab zu steuern und zu formen, um ihr gesamtes Potenzial neuartiger Funktionalitäten zu erforschen.
Die Forschung und Entwicklung widmet sich hier den Quantenphänomenen und molekulare Bausteinen, neuen und neuartigen Funktionsmaterialien sowie neuen optischen und photonischen Systemen.

Zur Helmholtz-Seite